Cody Ray is a freelance composer, trumpet player, conductor, and educator. Currently serving as a Graduate Teaching Assistant at Western Michigan University, Cody performs in the Aero Brass Quintet. In the spring of 2019, he received a Bachelors of Music from the University of Akron. During his time at UA, he performed with the University of Akron Symphony Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble, Symphonic Band, Chamber Orchestra, Brass Choir, New Music Ensemble, The Cleveland Philharmonic, and the Avenue Brass Quintet. In addition to these capacities, he performed with the University of Akron Faculty Brass Quintet during their 2019 UA Brass Seminar. He has competed as both a quarter and semi-finalist in the National Trumpet Competition. Cody’s primary trumpet instructors have included Dr. Robert White, Dr. Joshua Ganger, Mark Maliniak, Jack Schantz, Scott Johnston, and Dr. Mark Dulin. He has also had the privilege to participate in numerous masterclasses with world class artists such as Justin Emerich, Michael Sachs, Jack Sutte, Mark Hughes, and Hunter Eberly. 

Cody is the founder and Executive/Artistic Director of N.E.O. SOUND, a new music organization in North East Ohio focused on performing new music, collaborating with local artists, and creating a strong community.  An avid composer, his works have been read and performed by numerous ensembles including the Grammy Award winning Cleveland Chamber Symphony, Western Michigan University Wind Symphony, Arizona State University Wind Ensemble, The Oberlin Conservatory Brass Ensemble, The University of Akron Brass Choir, and The University of Akron Symphony Orchestra. He has enjoyed the pleasure of receiving numerous commissions throughout his undergraduate and graduate career by both student and professional groups. Cody was the winner of the University of Akron's Composition Competition and the recipient of the James P. and Maureen C. Kovach Scholarship for the Performing Arts. His primary composition teachers have included Dr. Richard Adams, Dr. Nikola Resanovic, Dr. Robert Brownlow and Dr. Daniel McCarthy. In addition, he has participated in masterclasses with guest artists including Dr. Anthony Donofrio, Dr. Andrew Boysen, and Mark Camphouse. 

© N.E.O. SOUND 2020
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Facebook
  • Instagram